Things to do in Stamford Bridge, East Yorkshire
Stamford Bridge is a small but popular village in the East Riding of Yorkshire. Situated on the scenic River Derwent, the current bridge which gives the village its name is William Etty's design, built as a three span bridge in 1727.
Of course, the original "bridge" would have been a natural rock ford which was frequented by Romans with business at the nearby Roman fort. The fort was established in the area in 70 AD, along with a settlement known as "Derventio".
A proper bridge had certainly been built by the next historic event in this area. This was the Battle of Stamford Bridge in 1066, when King Harold of England defeated King Harald of Norway, bringing an end the Viking era. Harold's victory was short-lived; as history recalls he died three weeks later at the better-known Battle of Hastings.
With the arrival of the Normans, the Stamford Bridge area became known as "Pons Belli", meaning "Battle Bridge".
One of the oldest buildings in the village is the corn mill which dates back to 1591. However the original mill was most likely in existence on that same spot in 1130 AD. This charming building was still in operation in 1847 when it was expanded to include seven grinding stones and two water wheels .
The mill finally closed in 1964 and has since been converted into luxury apartments with enviable river views.
Present Day Stamford Bridge
The current population of the parish of Stamford Bridge is around 3,400 people. The village stands on either side of the river and there are several notable landmarks including the viaduct and the Corn Mill.
The Grade II listed bridge still carries heavy local traffic and, as it only has a single lane, it often creates long queues.
The village has an almost self-sufficient centre with a post office, estate agent, solicitor, convenience store, newsagent, butcher, baker and pharmacy. A doctor's surgery, dental practice and veterinary clinic also serve the local community, along with some gift shops and specialty shops.
Visitors can enjoy fish and chips, pizzas or Chinese take-aways from the local fast food outlets. For dining out and socialising there are three pubs: The Swordsman, The Three Cups and The Bay Horse pub which are gathered around the main square.
The village has a Cricket Club, Sports Hall and a general Village Hall. There is a local parish church and a Methodist Church in the village.
The tall viaduct once carried trains across the River Derwent on their way from York to Beverley. It is now part of a traffic-free cycle path which is popular for cycling and walking.
The area has many signposted public footpaths along the river which offer scenic walks to Low Catton and Buttercrambe.
Famous residents in Stamford Bridge include Manchester United goalkeeper Nick Culkin; England goalkeeper Paul Robinson and TV vet Matt Brash, who still has a surgery in the village.
Share this page