Visit romantic Traquair where Alexander I signed a charter over 800 years ago and where the 'modern wings' were completed in 1680.
Once a pleasure ground for Scottish kings in times of peace, then a refuge for Catholic priests in times of terror, the Stuarts of Traquair supported Mary Queen of Scots and the Jacobite cause without counting the cost. Imprisoned, fined and isolated for their beliefs, their home, untouched by time, reflects the tranquillity of their family life.
The first Laird fell with his king at Flodden in 1513. Today, his descendants, the Maxwell Stuarts, have opened Traquair so that visitors can also enjoy its unique atmosphere and history.
Enjoy a day reliving the past. See the secret stairs, spooky cellars, books, embroideries and letters from former times. Look at modern Scottish art in the art gallery, browse through the gift and antique shops, the search for the centre of the maze. Sip Traquair ale with your lunch or have tea in the sun. Later, explore the enchanted woods...a magical day out for all the family.
Traquair House Brewery
When Mary Queen of Scots visited Traquair in 1566, a brewery was working and, in 1739, a 200 gallon copper was installed in a brew house in one of the wings beneath the chapel. Perhaps as a mark of respect for the passing of the Stuarts, the brewery then fell into disuse for over a hundred and fifty years until the late Peter Maxwell Stuart, rediscovered the old mash tun, open coolers and wooden stirring paddles in perfect condition and started brewing again in 1965.
Brewing at Traquair is still a very traditional craft and it is the only British brewery to continue to ferment its total production in oak. It has also earned a 5 star accolade in Michael Jackson's World Guide to Beer.
Traquair House Brewery now produces three deliciously rich dark ales; Traquair House Ale, Traquair Jacobite Ale and Bear Ale. The ales are exported world wide and are available in the Malt Loft. This is the brewery shop and museum tracing the history of brewing at Trquair with a video of the process. Ale tastings will be available every day.
- The Traquair Maze planted in 1980 is situated at the back of the house
- 1745 Cottage Restaurant, our award winning restaurant is situated in the Old Walled Garden and serves delicious light lunches and teas. Group bookings for evening meals.
- Traquair is very fortunate to have a recent bequest by Mrs Sarah Peyton of a fine collection of Victorian Dolls which will be on display on the top floor of the house.
- There are four independant craft businesses situated in the grounds that include jewellery, wrought ironwork, woodturning and children's clothes.
- Children's Activities: Mini adventure playground, Woodland Sound Sculpture, Maze and children's questionnaires.
Share this article
Signposted off A72 Peebles to Galashiels road at Innerleithen.
Traquair House Postcode for SatNav: EH44 6PW