AboutBritain.com Logo

Arniston House

Arniston is privately owned by descendants of the Dundas family who purchased the land in 1571. The present mansion house was commenced in 1726 by William Adam and completed by his son John, brother of the famous Robert, in the 1750's. William was commissioned by Robert Dundas who at the time was rising rapidly in his legal career. The Dundas family became established as landowners in Scotland when they were granted the lands of Dundas near South Queensferry in the 1160's. After the Reformation in 1571 Arniston was acquired for a second son James, by George Dundas, 16th Laird of Dundas estates. James occupied the Tower House from 1600 which stood on the site of the now Mansion House.The family were to rise to great legal heights in the 18th century. Robert, who organised the Adam commission, eventually became Lord President of the Court of Sessions as did his son also named Robert. Henry Dundas, 1st Viscount Melville was a younger son of Arniston.Arniston contains portraits of the generations of the family from the 16th century up to the present day, by artists including Ramsay and Raeburn. Also at Arniston are fine examples of Adam architecture, stucco work, furniture and other fascinating contents. The family still own and live in the house. The present owners the Dundas- Bekker family have been involved in a long programme of restoration work.

Share this article


From the south - A7 turn left onto the B6372 road sign posted Penicuik and Temple, Arniston is then the second turning on the right which is about a mile from the A7. From the north - as before turning right onto the B6372.

Arniston House Postcode for SatNav: EH23 4RY


+44 (0)1875 830 515
+44 (0)1875 830 515

EH23 4RY

Copyright © 1999-2024 Excelsior Information Systems Ltd. All rights reserved.
About Us  Press Room  Terms of Use  Privacy  Link to Us  Index  Site Map  Contact Us

Made with Responsive Grid System by Graham Miller