AboutBritain.com Logo

Totnes Guildhall

In 1206 King John granted a charter to Totnes making it a free town. It could then draw up its own laws. The merchants also obtained permission to set up their own Guild, which by the middle of the 13th century had 120 members. The original Guildhall was in the High Street.

In 1553 Edward VI gave Totnes a charter authorising the re-use of a former Priory building (founded 1088) as a Guildhall and schools. In 1624 the Guildhall was converted into a Magistrate's Court, during the Civil War soldiers were billeted here. The Guildhall remained a Magistrate's court until 1974, it is now used for Town Council meetings and other ceremonies such as the Mayor Choosing.

Some of the foundations and walls date back to the time of the Priory. In the Lower Chamber is a list of Mayors which dates back to 1359, the robes used in the Mayor Choosing are on display. Visitors can see cells from the time when the building was used as a Gaol and in the Council Chamber are large oak tables where Lord Fairfax and Oliver Cromwell sat to discuss their next plan of action.

Share this article


Totnes Guildhall Postcode for SatNav: TQ9 5QH


+44 (0)1803 862 147
+44 (0)1803 864 275

5 Ramparts Walk
Off High Street

Copyright © 1999-2024 Excelsior Information Systems Ltd. All rights reserved.
About Us  Press Room  Terms of Use  Privacy  Link to Us  Index  Site Map  Contact Us

Made with Responsive Grid System by Graham Miller