AboutBritain.com Logo

Nairn Museum

Viewfield House
Viewfield Drive
IV12 4EE

The Nairn Museum collection was started in 1858 by Dr. John Grigor with the donation of a rattlesnake from "The American Settlement" by Miss Grant of Larkfield.

The collection grew and was housed in the public hall on the High Street before being moved to Viewfield House after World War II.

In 2000, the Viewfield and Fishertown collections joined to give the unique array of artefacts and memorabilia which tell the stories of the Adventurers, Farmers and Fisherfolk, Tradesmen and "Notables" who helped in various ways to shape the history of the Royal burgh and the County of Nairnshire.

Share this article


Nairn Museum is situated on Viewfield Drive - off the A96 at Nairn Police Station.

Nairn Museum Postcode for SatNav: IV12 4EE


+44 (0)1667 456 791
+44 (0)1667 455 399

Copyright © 1999-2023 Excelsior Information Systems Ltd. All rights reserved.
About Us  Press Room  Terms of Use  Privacy  Link to Us  Index  Site Map  Contact Us

Made with Responsive Grid System by Graham Miller