AboutBritain.com Logo

Yorkshire Dales Mining Museum

Click Photo for Slideshow
The Old Grammar School
School Lane
BB18 6QF

The small town of Earby, on the Lancashire/Yorkshire border, was associated with cotton weaving until the 1960's and has no mining background at all. But it is home to an unrivalled collection of mining relics from the Yorkshire Dales, assembled over the last fifty years by Earby Mines Research Group.

Formed as an unofficial branch of the Earby Pothole Club in 1945, the group is the oldest surviving mining history organisation in the country.

The Old Grammar School is a listed building and is one of the oldest and most interesting in Earby dating from 1594.

The Museum houses a comprehensive range of exhibits covering the mining, dressing and smelting of lead ore and the extraction of other minerals in the Yorkshire Dales.

With fully illustrated Storyboards and many unique items the museum is well worth a visit.

There is a Tearoom open to non-museum visitors and a small shop.
Disabled access throughout.

Share this article


From Skipton:
Take the first turn left off the A56 into School Lane, the museum is on the left after 200 metres.

From Colne:
Follow the A56 towards Skipton and take the last turn right before the Catholic Church on the left. This is School Lane.

There is a brown direction sign for the museum at this junction

Yorkshire Dales Mining Museum Postcode for SatNav: BB18 6QF


+44 (0)1282 841 422

Copyright © 1999-2022 Excelsior Information Systems Ltd. All rights reserved.
About Us  Press Room  Terms of Use  Privacy  Link to Us  Index  Site Map  Contact Us

Made with Responsive Grid System by Graham Miller