Kinnaird Head was the first lighthouse to be built on top of a fortified castle. In 1824 the lighthouse was reconstructed inside Kinnaird Castle by Robert Stevenson, Engineer to the Northern Lighthouse Board. In 1851 his son, Alan Stevenson, improved and developed the light and lighthouse keepers cottages. In 1902, David A. Stevenson continued the great tradition by installing a new lens and developing the cottages at Kinnaird Head. The lighthouse was decommissioned in 1991, the original lighthouse and engine room are now preserved as they were the day the last keeper left
The Museum of Scottish Lighthouses has the largest and best collection of lighthouse lenses and equipment in the U.K. Visitors can discover the unique story of the Stevenson family, lighthouse engineers to the world, in the Stevenson Gallery and the multi-screen audio visual which tells the story of the lighthouse service in Scotland. Guided tours of the lighthouse are offered daily by Museum-trained staff. The Tour fee is included in the admission charge. Lighthouse tours are not suitable for persons confined to a wheelchair.
General Information:Free car and coach parkingDesignated parking spaces for visitors with disabilitiesSome access for people with disabilities Adapted toilet facilitiesChair lift available to all upper levels in the MuseumNo dogs allowed in the Museum except guide dogsCaféGift Shop
Share this article