Llancaiach Fawr Manor House


Visitors to Llancaiach Fawr Manor step back in time to the year 1645. They are greeted and shown around by the "servants" of the owner, Colonel Prichard, and can listen to the gossip of the day, hear about traditional customs and talk about the everyday life of ordinary people over 350 years ago. A major topic being discussed will be the turmoil of the Civil War raging between King and Parliament. During the early part of the year there is staunch support for the Royalist cause, but following the visit of King Charles in August the master and his household will change allegiance to Parliament.

General Information:

  • Gift shop
  • Refreshments
  • Restaurant
  • Gardens
  • Car and coach park
  • limited access to the middle/upper floor of the manor
  • Dogs and pets are not allowed in the Manor of formal gardens. Guide dogs excepted.

  • Directions

    From the M4 motorway leave at junction 32 and follow the A470 towards Merthyr Tydfil. After approximately 12 miles turn right at the roundabout signposted A472 Ystrad Mynach and follow the brown historic building signs through Nelson village.

    From A465 Heads of the Valley road turn onto the A470 towards Cardiff. Follow this road past Merthyr Tydfil and turn left at the roundabout signposted A472 Ystrad Mynach. Follow the brown historic building signs through Nelson village.


    Llancaiach Fawr Manor House Postcode for SatNav: CF46 6ER

    Contact

     
    Tel:
    +44 (0)1443 412 248
    Email:
    Web:


    Copyright © 1999-2014 Excelsior Information Systems Ltd. All rights reserved.
    About Us  Press Room  Terms of Use  Privacy  Link to Us  Index  Site Map  Contact Us





    Nearby Attractions


    Nearby Towns



    Also near Llancaiach Fawr Manor House


    Bed and Breakfast:
     
     6 Miles
     
     8 Miles
     
     9 Miles
     
    Self Catering:
     
     3 Miles
     
     6 Miles
     
     7 Miles
     
    Campsites:
     
     7 Miles
     
     16 Miles
     
     17 Miles