AboutBritain.com Logo

Leece Museum



Click Photo for Slideshow
40 Castle Street
Peel
Isle of Man
IM5 1AL

The Leece Museum is devoted to objects, photographs and documents specifically relating to Peel and its surrounding area. Its archive of unique documents and photographs is of particular interest to those who are researching family history, as well as to visitors with a general interest in the life of a busy Manx fishing port in days gone by.

The Leece Museum was established in 1984 by Mr TE (Eddie) Leece, a retired headmaster of Peel Clothworkers School, and former Town Commissioner, and Mr Frank Quayle who served as the museum's curator for its first 15 years.

In June 2000 the museum was relocated to its present premises in the Old Courthouse building, which served as the town's seat of justice until the beginning of the 20th Century. On the ground floor is the infamous 'Black Hole' where the convicts were held for crimes such as drunk and disorderly, prostitution, livestock theft and murder. Those awaiting transportation to the Colonies were also kept here. During the Potato Riots of 1820 it is said that six women and one man were held in the cell and that when they were released the man appeared to be inexplicably exhausted!

The dedicated staff of the museum bring a wealth of experience and local knowledge from which visitors can benefit. In addition they assist in research and educational projects covering a wide variety of themes from natural history to industrial archaeology and architecture.

During The TT race fortnight the museum has an annual TT exhibition with photographs and memorabilia. At other times there are exhibitions throughout the year. The museum has tourist information. This is in addition to the Tourist Information Point at the Town Hall which is open weekdays only.

Throughout the year we have exhibitions held by groups ie:-photographic societies. Contact the Leece Museum for enquiries about holding an exhibition of your group's work or individual exhibition.

Share this article




Directions

The Leece Museum is a 2 minute walk from the new harbour Bridge, next to the Peveril Hotel.

Leece Museum Postcode for SatNav: IM5 1AL

Contact

 
Tel:
+44 (0)1624 845 366
Email:
Web:











Copyright © 1999-2017 Excelsior Information Systems Ltd. All rights reserved.
About Us  Press Room  Terms of Use  Privacy  Link to Us  Index  Site Map  Contact Us

Made with Responsive Grid System by Graham Miller