The Forge Museum is set in attractive Grade II* Listed buildings situated in the picturesque village of Much Hadham. Originally a farmhouse, the earlier parts of the building date from the 15th century, Horseshoe Cottage and Forge Cottage date from the 16th century. The forge and bellows room are part of a 17th century barn conversion, and in 1811 the shoeing room and blacksmith's shop were added. The Page family were blacksmiths in the village from 1811 to 1983, the buildings where then given by deed of gift to the Hertfordshire Building Preservation Trust.
The Forge Museum was opened in 1991. The resident blacksmith can be seen working 6 days a week, please telephone for details. The displays tell fascinating stories about how the crafts of blacksmithing and farriery have developed over the years, as well as a smaller exhibition about local village life. The collection includes photographs, documents and a wide range of blacksmithing tools.There are also other craft tools used by the plumber, wheelwright, cobbler and carpenter.
The garden houses a rare early nineteenth century bee shelter and a reconstructed granary building that originally stood on agricultural land connected with the Earls of Essex in Watford.
General Information:ShopEducation service for schools and other groups, telephone for detailsGroups by prior arrangement.
Share this article